College

I just got a lovely postcard from Eastern Mennonite University…

Hey Coby!
     Junior year is a great time
to start checking out colleges.
I’m glad you’re considering
EMU.  For an inside look into
what it’s like to be a student
here, check out our website
at: http://www.emu.edu/admissions/askme
To experience EMU for yourself,
schedule a campus visit at:
http://www.emu.edu/admissions/campusvisit/
Hope to hear from you soon!
(I won’t give her name because I’m not that cruel)
CURRENT EMU STUDENT
Royals Society Member


One, junior year is a great time to start checking out colleges.  Too bad I’m a senior…  I’m wondering if she got my grade wrong?  Oh well, just a nitpick.

Two, I didn’t know I was considering EMU…  Maybe at one point, I considered going there after Blue Ridge but EMU has been ruled out in favor of Bridgewater.  EMU is a tad bit cheaper, but is harder to get into.  Bridgewater, a bit more expensive but hopefully by junior year, I’ll be well off enough to afford education.

Three, the blatant advertising…  Makes one wonder if this was scripted?

One more thing.  I wonder how this person got my address?  When a person gives me a postcard, I expect it to be from someone I know.  Relatives, or even people from school on summer trips.  This person?  I don’t even know…creepy.

And Royals Society Member?  Sounds like a cult…

Faith is universal. Our specific methods for understanding it are arbitrary. Some of us pray to Jesus, some us go to Mecca, some of us study subatomic particles. In the end we are all just searching for truth, that which is greater than ourselves.

3 thoughts on “College

  1. heheh silly….royals society has something to do with either a) academic merit or b) building communityas for the scripted card…havent you gotten them from other colleges, with other peoples names!? There’s jsut a list of students who they hope are interested in their college (i say their, because this applies to LOTS of colleges who do this) and they know that it’s more personal (der) to get a person to write it. so yeah it is advertisement…but i mean they want you to come to their college, so its understandablenice quote! i like it.

Comment?

