Decoding the Da Vinci Code Part II

So I finally saw The Da Vinci Code…and I was impressed.  Not a bad movie, at all.  Unlike Elwood, I recommend watching it.  Then again, I haven’t read the book, so I can’t say how faithful the movie is to the book.  Ah, well…

The movie (and book) are works of fiction.  I can’t really stress that enough.  If Mr. Elwood is correct, and people’s faith can be changed by a fiction-based form of entertainment (not that he said that, but he heavily implied it), then it really says something about the religion.  I think its sad that the Vatican (and other people) have to boycott a fiction movie.  People are so stupid and so weak of faith, that they would buy all the concepts of faith the movie/novel present.  Like Tom Hanks said,” We always knew there would be a segment of society that would not want this movie to be shown.  But the story we tell is loaded with all sorts of hooey and fun kind of scavenger-hunt-type nonsense.  If you are going to take any sort of movie at face value, particularly a huge-budget motion picture like this, you’d be making a very big mistake.  It’s a damn good story and a lot of fun…all it is is dialogue.  That never hurts.”

As for the movie, again, I enjoyed it.  I’d go and point out all the fiction in it but two reasons…  One, that would ruin the movie for the viewer.  Go see the movie, I feel it’s worth your time.  Two, I’d be no better than the Christians boycotting the movie.  See the movie, and point the fiction out yourself.  If you don’t know the fiction, then do some research.  Researching isn’t just for school project, y’know?

Anyway, I’ll post a review sometime this week.

Oh, and I got an Xbox 360…or I should say, my brother got one.  I’m getting Oblivion for it tomorrow.  Dismissed!

Nothing in Christianity is original.

4 thoughts on “Decoding the Da Vinci Code Part II

  1. im glad you liked it. i wana see it!! i loved the book. that is so true as well. if a movie can change someone’s faith then they never shouldve had that faith to begin with because then they obviously didnt really believe what they believed. anyways, i think its ridiculous that it is such a controversey at all. anyways have a great week

Comment?

